Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Stochastic optimisation to analyse parametric uncertainty in energy system optimisation

Stochastic optimisation to analyse parametric uncertainty in energy system optimisation
Job Advertisement:

Stochastic optimisation to analyse parametric uncertainty in energy system optimisation

Links:
Job:

Master thesis

Faculty / Division:

Faculty of Informatics

Institute:

Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics

Starting Date:

any time

closing date:

flexible

Contact Person:

Fabian Neumann

Fulfilling the Paris climate accords means reaching net-zero carbon dioxide emissions by mid-century. To find the most cost-effective pathways to achieve these targets, researchers build optimisation models of the energy system. Naturally, models of future energy systems come with many uncertainties. These can be either of structural or parametric nature. Structural uncertainty refers to model inaccuracies introduced by using simplified physical models, for instance for the flow of power in electricity networks, which only approximately reflect reality. On the other hand, parametric uncertainty refers to inconclusive assumptions today about the investment costs and technical parameters of generators, transmission infrastructure and storage units in 2050. However, with changing sets of combinations of cost assumptions, the optimal technology mix may change significantly. Therefore, finding good parameter estimates (or at least accounting for their uncertainty) is pivotal to achieve robust investment decisions. Methods from optimisation and duality theory can be used to perform a systematic sensitivity analysis of the optimisation results, i.e. investigating how decisions change as a certain parameter is varied. Moreover, techniques of stochastic optimisation can incorporate uncertainty directly in the model formulation. In this project you will investigate the role of parametric uncertainty in long-term investment planning for an energy system model with European scale.

Potential Research Paths

  • Investigate approaches to sensitivity analysis in linear programming and stochastic optimisation.
  • Identify the extent of sensitivities and which parameters are most dominant.
  • Formulate and implement a stochastic optimisation problem derived from the deterministic linear programme taking into account distributions of the most sensitive techno-economic parameters.
  • Analyse how investment decisions in the energy system change as uncertainties are taken into account.

Personal Qualifications

We are looking for motivated students in computer science, physics, mathematics, economics or related fields who are interested in energy systems, economics, data processing and numerical optimisation. Basic knowledge in these topics is desirable, as well as experience with object-oriented programming. The project will primarily be in Python using packages such as pandas and pyomo. If you know about this already, it is also a big plus.

The Energy System Modelling Group

We are a young, international and friendly research group at the Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics that is committed to preventing catastrophic global warming and open-source software development. We look forward to working with you!

Literature and Links

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Parameterunsicherheit in Energiesystemmodellierung mit stochastischer Optimierung

Parameterunsicherheit in Energiesystemmodellierung mit stochastischer Optimierung
Stellenausschreibung:

Parameterunsicherheit in Energiesystemmodellierung mit stochastischer Optimierung

Links:
Stellenart:

Masterarbeit

Fakultät/Abteilung:

Fakultät für Informatik

Institut:

Institute für Automation und Angewandte Informatik

Eintrittstermin:

jederzeit

Bewerbungsfrist:

flexibel

Kontaktperson:

Neumann, Fabian

Die Erfüllung der Pariser Klimaabkommen bedeutet, bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts die Netto-Null-Kohlendioxidemissionen zu erreichen. Um die kostengünstigsten Wege zur Erreichung dieser Ziele zu finden, erstellen die Forscher Optimierungsmodelle des Energiesystems.  Natürlich sind Modelle zukünftiger Energiesysteme mit vielen Unsicherheiten behaftet. Diese können entweder struktureller oder parametrischer Natur sein. Strukturelle Unsicherheit bezieht sich auf Modellungenauigkeiten, die durch die Verwendung vereinfachter physikalischer Modelle verursacht werden, z.B. für den Stromfluss in Stromnetzen, die die Realität nur annähernd widerspiegeln. Andererseits bezieht sich die parametrische Unsicherheit auf nicht eindeutige Annahmen über die Investitionskosten und technischen Parameter von Generatoren, Übertragungsinfrastruktur und Speichereinheiten im Jahr 2050. Bei sich ändernden Kombinationen von Kostenannahmen kann sich der optimale Technologiemix jedoch erheblich ändern. Daher ist es entscheidend, gute Parameterschätzungen zu finden (oder zumindest ihre Unsicherheit zu berücksichtigen), um solide Investitionsentscheidungen zu treffen. Mit Methoden der Optimierungs- und Dualitätstheorie kann eine systematische Sensitivitätsanalyse der Optimierungsergebnisse durchgeführt werden, d.h. die Untersuchung, wie sich Entscheidungen ändern, wenn ein bestimmter Parameter variiert wird. Darüber hinaus können Techniken der stochastischen Optimierung die Unsicherheit direkt in die Modellformulierung einbeziehen. In diesem Projekt untersuchst Du die Rolle der parametrischen Unsicherheit bei der langfristigen Investitionsplanung für ein Energiesystemmodell mit europäischer Dimension.

Potenzielle Forschungspfade

  • Untersuchung von Ansätzen zur Sensitivitätsanalyse in der linearen Programmierung und stochastischen Optimierung.
  • Identifizierung des Ausmaßes der Sensibilitäten und der am stärksten dominierenden Parameter.
  • Formulierung und Implementierung eines stochastischen Optimierungsproblems aus dem ursrpünglichen Optimierungsproblem unter Berücksichtigung der Verteilung der sensitiven technoökonomischen Parameter.
  • Analysieren von Investitionsentscheidungen im Energiesystem, wie sich diese unter Berücksichtigung von Unsicherheiten ändern.

Persönliche Qualifikationen

Wir suchen motivierte Studenten der Informatik, Physik, Mathematik, Wirtschaftswissenschaften oder verwandter Fachrichtungen, die sich für Energiesysteme, Wirtschaft, Datenverarbeitung und numerische Optimierung interessieren. Grundkenntnisse in diesen Themen sind wünschenswert, ebenso wie Erfahrungen mit der objektorientierten Programmierung. Das Projekt wird hauptsächlich in Python mit Paketen wie Pandas und Pyomo durchgeführt. Wenn du das bereits kennst, ist das auch ein Plus.

Unsere Gruppe

Wir sind eine junge, internationale und hilfsbereite Forschungsgruppe am Institut für Automatisierung und angewandte Informatik, die sich der Verhinderung einer katastrophalen globalen Erwärmung und der Open-Source-Softwareentwicklung verschrieben hat. Wir freuen uns auf die Zusammenarbeit mit dir!

Literature and Links

  • Convex Optimization by Stephen Boyd and Lieven Vandenberghe (Cahpter 5.6)
  • An Introduction to Continuous Optimization by Niclas Andreasson, Anton Evgrafov, and Michael Patriksson (primarily Chapter 10)
  • PyPSA-Eur: https://github.com/pypsa/pypsa-eur
  • PyPSA: https://github.com/pypsa/pypsa and https://pypsa.readthedocs.io/en/latest/