Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics

TELMYOS

Longname

TELMYOS: Telemetric and myoelectric ear muscle sensing system

Applicants

Prof. Dr.-med. David Liebetanz
Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Dr.-Ing. Markus Reischl
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Rupp
Universität Heidelberg

Funding

BMBF, 2011-2015

Description

The TELMYOS project (telemetric and myoelectric ear muscle sensing system) deals with fundamental questions around the novel human-machine interface based on the ear muscle activity signals. The muscle activities of the bilateral, extrinsic ear muscles (M. auricularis) serve as input to control a variety of executing devices, e.g., electric-powered wheelchairs or robotic arms. The facial nerve, innervating the ear muscles, is usually intact in severely disabled individuals such as persons living with tetraplegia. Hence, TELMYOS is an option for these individuals without reducing the residual bodily functions. Simple activities of daily routine, e.g., eating, talking or looking around can be performed while operating TELMYOS. Persons with upper extremities amputated also benefit from it. Moreover, non-medical fields of application such as “third-hand controls” are conceivable. The TELMYOS project poses an option for current endeavors in the scientific community to make use of brain activity signals for controlling executing devices, as that technology do not provide adequate accuracy.

Methods are developed addressing the efficient acquisition of muscle activity signals, the generation of comprehensive user feedback, the assessment of the learning process, the parameter adaptation on the interface side and the user individualization. The developed methods are implemented in a real-time, graphical user interface. The muscle activity signals get transmitted wirelessly to warrant maximum flexibility. An electric-powered wheelchair serves as a demonstrator and to evaluate the implemented methods. Studies with both able-bodied and physically handicapped individuals indicate promising results with respect to the learnability of this cutting-edge human-machine interface.

 


Selected publications

Schmalfuß, L.; Rupp, R.; Tuga, M.; Kogut, A.; Hewitt, M.; Meincke, J.; Klinker, F.; Duttenhoefer, W.; Eck, U.; Mikut, R.; Reischl, M. & Liebetanz, D. Steer by Ear: Myoelectric Auricular Control of Powered Wheelchairs for Individuals with Spinal Cord Injury Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience, IOS Press, 2015, 34, 79-95

Doneit, W.; Tuga, M. R.; Mikut, R.; Liebetanz, D.; Rupp, Rü. & Reischl, M. Kalibrierungs- und Trainingsstrategien zur individuellen Signalgenerierung für die myoelektrische Steuerung technischer Hilfsmittel Technisches Messen, 2015, 82, 411-421

Institut für Automation und angewandte Informatik

TELMYOS

Langname

Verbundprojekt TELMYOS: Ein telemetrisches Ohrmus-kelableitsystem zur Steuerung technischer Rehabilitati-onsmittel – Teilprojekt Feedback-Trainingsumgebung

Antragsteller

Prof. Dr.-med. David Liebetanz
Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Dr.-Ing. Markus Reischl
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Rupp
Universität Heidelberg

Förderung

BMBF, 2011-2015

Beschreibung

Das Projekt TELMYOS (telemetrisches und myoelektrisches Ohrmuskelableitsystem) beschäftigt sich mit grundsätzlichen Fragestellungen rund um das Thema der neuartigen Ohrmuskelsignal-basierten Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle. Die Muskelsignale der beidseitigen, äußeren Ohrmuskulatur (M. auricularis) dienen als Eingangssignale zur Steuerung verschiedener technischer Geräte, z.B. elektrische Rollstühle oder Roboterarme. Da diese Muskelgruppe durch den Gesichtsnerv innerviert ist, stellt sie für Personen mit einer hohen Querschnittläsion eine Möglichkeit der willentlichen Aktivierung ohne Beeinträchtigung existierender Körperfunktionen dar. Tätigkeiten des alltäglichen Lebens wie beispielsweise Essen, Sprechen oder Umhersehen können ungehindert vom Benutzer ausgeführt werden bei gleichzeitiger Ansteuerung durch TELMYOS. Personen mit Amputationen der oberen Extremitäten gehören außerdem zur engeren Zielgruppe. Darüber hinaus sind nicht-medizinische Anwendungen einer „dritten Hand“ vorstellbar. Das Projekt TELMYOS ist eine Alternative zu aktuellen Bemühungen in der Forschung Hirnströme zur Steuerung technischer Geräte nutzbar zu machen, die hingegen in den kommenden Jahren keinen Routinebetrieb vermuten lassen.
Es werden u.a. Methoden zur effizienten Ableitung von Muskelsignalen, zur Feedbackgenerierung, zur Quantifizierung von Lernfortschritten, zur Schnittstellen-seitigen Parameteradaption und zur Benutzerindividualisierung entwickelt. Die entwickelten Methoden werden in eine Echtzeit-fähige, grafische Benutzeroberfläche implementiert. Die Muskelsignale können drahtlos übertragen werden und ermöglichen so eine maximale Flexibilität. Ein elektrischer Rollstuhl dient als Demonstrator und wird zur Methodenevaluierung verwendet. Probanden- und Patientenstudien zeigen vielversprechende Ergebnisse hinsichtlich der Erlernbarkeit dieser innovativen Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle. 


Ausgewählte Publikationen

Schmalfuß, L.; Rupp, R.; Tuga, M.; Kogut, A.; Hewitt, M.; Meincke, J.; Klinker, F.; Duttenhoefer, W.; Eck, U.; Mikut, R.; Reischl, M. & Liebetanz, D. Steer by Ear: Myoelectric Auricular Control of Powered Wheelchairs for Individuals with Spinal Cord Injury Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience, IOS Press, 2015, 34, 79-95

Doneit, W.; Tuga, M. R.; Mikut, R.; Liebetanz, D.; Rupp, Rü. & Reischl, M. Kalibrierungs- und Trainingsstrategien zur individuellen Signalgenerierung für die myoelektrische Steuerung technischer Hilfsmittel Technisches Messen, 2015, 82, 411-421