Welcome to the Research Platform Energy

The Research Platform Energy (RPE) is part of the Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics (IAI) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The Research Platform Energy conducts research and development in the field of innovative, application-oriented information, automation and systems technology for sustainable energy systems. The Research Platform Energy is responsible for the scientific operation and for the continuous development of the energy research infrastructures Energy Lab 2.0 (subproject Smart Energy System Simulation and Control Center, SEnSSiCC) and Living Lab Energy Campus.

Energy Lab 2.0

The Energy Lab 2.0 is a large-scale research infrastructure in which the interaction of the components of future energy systems is studied and new approaches to stabilizing energy networks are tested under realistic conditions. A network of plants links electrical, thermal and chemical energy flows as well as new information and communication technologies. The aim of the research work is to improve the transport, distribution, storage and use of electricity and thus create the basis for energy system transformation.

SEnSSiCC in the Energy Lab 2.0

SEnSSiCC bundles the IT technical work and research aspects of Energy Lab 2.0. SEnSSiCC combines the following laboratories:

  • Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center (CMVC, operated by RPE)
  • Energy Grids Simulation and Analysis Laboratory (EGSAL, operated by RPE)
  • Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL, operated by RPE)
  • Living Lab Energy Campus experimental buildings (LLEC, operated by RPE)
  • Security Lab Energy
  • Power Hardware in the Loop Laboratory (PHIL, operated by the Institute of Technical Physics)

 

Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center

Research control room of the CMVC in the Energy Lab 2.0 (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

The Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center (CMVC) is a research-oriented infrastructure for designing, developing and testing new software for the planning and operation of smart energy systems. Based on a computer cluster with cloud and big data technologies, innovative services provide highly scalable data management, analysis, forecasting, simulation, optimization and visualization functionalities that can be used directly via the web. A SCADA instrumentation ensures the data and control connection of local and remote Energy Lab 2.0 plants and networks.

Energy Grids Simulation and Analysis Laboratory

The Energy Grids Simulation and Analysis Laboratory (EGSAL) is a hardware and software infrastructure for the modeling, simulation and analysis of energy networks (electricity, gas, heat, fuels) that link producers, storage facilities and consumers. The future power grid will play a central role in the integration of all energy forms and networks in the energy transition. In EGSAL, both microgrids and the KIT Campus North power grid as well as interconnected networks (Karlsruhe city grid, transmission and distribution networks in Germany, transmission network in Europe) are being investigated. State-of-the-art software and self-developed computer solutions form the basis for this.

Real Time Digital Simulators in EGSAL of the Energy Lab 2.0 (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

Smart Energy System Control Laboratory

The busbar matrix interconnects all the systems in SESCL in order to quickly implement a wide variety of experiments. (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

The Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL) is an experimental facility for developing and testing modern energy technology systems and new control algorithms. The physical presence of the systems in SESCL creates a constant reference to reality and thus facilitates the implementation of the research results in real network environments. Since the experimental field is galvanically isolated from the public power grid, control strategies in borderline areas can be approved and investigated there. In addition, operating points that approach the stability limits can be controlled. Such experiments would not be permitted in the public grid.

Living Lab Energy Campus experimental buildings

In the Helmholtz Research Infrastructure (FIS) Living Lab Energy Campus the construction of three experimental buildings with identical building envelope and generous instrumentation, but different controllable heating systems, was realized. The three experimental buildings enable research on a self-adjusting process control for network-based control of building heating systems and their validation in a real-world experiment. Due to an improved process control, all heating systems equipped with such modern controllers directly save energy. Electricity-based heating systems with network-based controls also provide system services in the electricity network.

LLEC experimental buildings (Source: Simon Waczowicz, KIT)

Security Lab Energy

Control, IT and network components in the Security Lab Energy (Source: Hubert B. Keller, KIT)

In the Security Lab Energy an exemplary distributed and networked energy system with typical components will be set up. The same control, IT and network components are used as in a real power network. The components planned are, for example, a small wind turbine, a battery, a photovoltaic system, a smart meter, etc. All communication infrastructure components including networking are also planned. The aim is to implement attacks on the ICT system and the automation components. In particular, the protocols are also the target of the analyses. Extensive data will be generated for the analyses.

Power Hardware in the Loop Laboratory

The Power Hardware in the Loop (PHIL) Laboratory is an infrastructure for the secure and repeatable testing of new network components, topologies and technologies in every conceivable operating situation. The PHIL laboratory is an essential element of the SEnSSiCC, which is built and operated by the Institute of Technical Physics. There, the network environment itself can be simulated in real time, which considerably shortens the development time of novel hardware components.

PHIL enables real energy hardware components to be integrated into a simulated network. This is the only way to make the complex overall energy system with integrated sector coupling experimentally accessible at all. (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

Willkommen zur Research Platform Energy

Die Research Platform Energy (RPE) ist Teil des Instituts für Automation und angewandte Informatik (IAI) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT). Die Research Platform Energy betreibt Forschung und Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet innovativer, anwendungsorientierter Informations-, Automatisierungs- und Systemtechnik für zukunftsfähige Energiesysteme. Die Research Platform Energy ist zuständig für den wissenschaftlichen Betrieb und für die stetige Weiterentwicklung der Energieforschungsinfrastrukturen Energy Lab 2.0 (Teilprojekt Smart Energy System Simulation and Control Center, SEnSSiCC) und Living Lab Energy Campus.

Energy Lab 2.0

Das Energy Lab 2.0 ist eine großskalige Forschungsinfrastruktur, in der das Zusammenspiel der Komponenten künftiger Energiesysteme erforscht und neue Ansätze zur Stabilisierung der Energienetze realitätsnah erprobt werden. Ein Anlagenverbund verknüpft elektrische, thermische und chemische Energieströme sowie neue Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien. Ziel der Forschungsarbeit ist es, Transport, Verteilung, Speicherung und Nutzung des Stromes zu verbessern und damit die Grundlage für die Energiewende zu schaffen.

SEnSSiCC im Energy Lab 2.0

In SEnSSiCC sind die IT-technischen Arbeiten und Forschungsaspekte des Energy Lab 2.0 gebündelt. SEnSSiCC vereint folgende Labore:

  • Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center (CMVC, betrieben von RPE)
  • Energy Grids Simulation and Analysis Laboratory (EGSAL, betrieben von RPE)
  • Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL, betrieben von RPE)
  • Living Lab Energy Campus Experimentalgebäude (LLEC, betrieben von RPE)
  • Security Lab Energy
  • Power Hardware in the Loop Laboratory (PHIL, betrieben vom Institut für Technische Physik)

 

Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center

Forschungsleitwarte des CMVC im Energy Lab 2.0 (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Das Control, Monitoring and Visualization Center (CMVC) ist eine forschungsorientierte Infrastruktur zur Konzeption, Entwicklung und Erprobung neuer Software für die Planung und den Betrieb smarter Energiesystemlösungen. Auf Basis eines Computerclusters mit Cloud- und Big-Data-Technologien stellen innovative Dienste hoch skalierbare Datenmanagement-, Analyse-, Vorhersage-, Simulations-, Optimierungs- und Visualisierungsfunktionalitäten bereit, die sich direkt über das Web nutzen lassen. Eine SCADA-lnstrumentierung sorgt für die daten- und kontrolltechnische Anbindung der lokalen und entfernten Anlagen und Netze des Energy Lab 2.0.

Energy Grids Simulation and Analysis Laboratory

Das Energy Grids Simulation and Analysis Laboratory (EGSAL) ist eine Hard- und Software-Infrastruktur zur Modellierung, Simulation und Analyse von Energienetzen (Strom, Gas, Wärme, Kraftstoffe), die Erzeuger, Speicher und Verbraucher verknüpfen. Das zukünftige Stromnetz spielt für die Integration aller Energieformen und -netze in der Energiewende eine zentrale Rolle. In EGSAL werden sowohl Microgrids und das Stromnetz des KIT-Campus Nord als auch Verbundnetze (Stadtnetz Karlsruhe, Übertragungs- und Verteilnetze Deutschland, Übertragungsnetz Europa) untersucht. State-of-the-Art Software und selbst entwickelte Computerlösungen bilden hierfür die Grundlage.

Real Time Digital Simulatoren im EGSAL des Energy Lab 2.0 (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Smart Energy System Control Laboratory

Die Sammelschienenmatrix verschaltet alle Anlagen im SESCL miteinander, um verschiedenste Experimente schnell umzusetzen. (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Das Smart Energy System Control Laboratory (SESCL) ist eine Experimentierstätte, um moderne energietechnische Anlagen und neue Regelalgorithmen zu entwickeln und zu testen. Die physische Präsenz der Anlagen im SESCL schafft einen ständigen Realitätsbezug und erleichtert damit die Umsetzung der Forschungsergebnisse in realen Netzumgebungen. Weil das Experimentierfeld vom öffentlichen Stromnetz galvanisch getrennt ist, können dort auch Regelungstrategien in Grenzbereichen zugelassen und untersucht werden. Außerdem können Betriebspunkte angesteuert werden, die an die Stabilitätsgrenzen heranreichen. Solche Experimente wären im öffentlichen Netz unzulässig.

Living Lab Energy Campus Experimentalgebäude

In der Helmholtz-Forschungsinfrastruktur (FIS) Living Lab Energy Campus wurde der Bau dreier Experimentalgebäude mit identischer Gebäudehülle und großzügiger Instrumentierung, aber verschiedenen regelbaren Heizsystemen, realisiert. Die drei Experimentalgebäude ermöglichen die Forschung an einer selbsteinstellenden Prozessführung zur netzdienlichen Regelung für Gebäudeheizungen und deren Validierung in einem Echtteileexperiment. Durch eine verbesserte Prozessführung sparen alle mit solch modernen Reglern ausgestatteten Heizungsanlagen unmittelbar Energie. Strombasierte Heizungsanlagen mit netzdienlichen Regelungen erbringen außerdem Systemdienstleistungen im Stromnetz.

LLEC Experimentalgebäude (Quelle: Simon Waczowicz, KIT)

Security Lab Energy

Steuerungs-, IT- und Netzwerkkomponenten Im Security Lab Energy (Quelle: Hubert B. Keller, KIT)

Im Security Lab Energy wird ein beispielhaftes verteiltes und vernetztes Energiesystem mit typischen Komponenten aufgebaut. Es werden die gleichen Steuerungs-, IT- und Netzwerkkomponenten eingesetzt wie in einem realen Stromnetz. An Komponenten sind z. B. ein kleines Windrad, eine Batterie, eine Photovoltaikanlage, ein Smart Meter etc. geplant. Ebenfalls sind alle Kommunikationsinfrastrukturkomponenten inklusive der Vernetzung vorgesehen. Ziel ist es, Angriffe auf das IKT-System und die automatisierungstechnischen Komponenten zu realisieren. Dabei sind insbesondere auch die Protokolle Ziel der Analysen. Für die Untersuchungen werden umfangreiche Daten generiert.

Power Hardware in the Loop Laboratory

Das Power Hardware in the Loop (PHIL) Laboratory ist eine Infrastruktur zur sicheren und wiederholbaren Prüfung neuer Netzkomponenten, -topologien und -technologien in jeder erdenklichen Betriebssituation. Das PHIL-Labor ist ein wesentliches Element des SEnSSiCC, welches vom Institut für Technische Physik aufgebaut und betrieben wird. Dort lässt sich die Netzumgebung selbst in Echtzeit simulieren, was die Entwicklungszeit neuartiger Hardwarekomponenten erheblich verkürzt.

Durch PHIL können reale Energie-Hardware-Komponenten in ein simuliertes Netz eingebunden werden. Nur so ist das komplexe Gesamtsystem Energie mit integrierter Sektorenkopplung experimentell überhaupt zugänglich. (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)