pyWATTS is an open-source Python-based workflow automation tool for time series analysis to simplify the evaluation process and the design of repetitive experiments. Moreover, it allows the integration of existing models due to standardized API.

pyWATTS: Python Workflow Automation Tool for Time Series

Time series data are fundamental for a variety of applications, ranging from financial markets to energy systems. Due to their importance, the number and complexity of tools and methods used for time series analysis is constantly increasing. However, due to unclear APIs and a lack of documentation, researchers struggle to integrate them into their research projects and replicate results. Additionally, in time series analysis there exist many repetitive tasks, which are often re-implemented for each project, unnecessarily costing time. pyWATTS, an open-source Python-based package, is a non-sequential workflow automation tool for the analysis of time series data that aims to solve the above problems. pyWATTS includes modules with clearly defined interfaces to enable seamless integration of new or existing methods, subpipelining to easily reproduce repetitive tasks, load and save functionality to simply replicate results, and native support for key Python machine learning libraries such as scikit-learn, PyTorch, and Keras.

Some key features of pyWATTS are:

  • A platform-independent solution to implement workflows from start to finish using pipelines. Thereby, time series experiments can be performed in an organized manner and in any environment that supports pyWATTS.
  • Enables re-usability through subpipelining. Any useful part of a time series experiment, e.g. preprocessing, can be defined as a subpipeline and integrated into other pipelines without further adaption and independently of the original experiment.
  • Saving and loading of any given pipeline configuration to reproduce results at a later date.
  • Simple integration of new research approaches through a plug-and-play style environment where modules implemented in pyWATTS can be exchanged seamlessly between pipelines through a modular architecture with data handling through xarray.
  • A clear API of the modules, i.e. transform and fit methods, ensuring that pipelines within pyWATTS are adaptable and that modules can easily run on multiple data sets, at different points in a pipeline, and in various pipelines.
  • Integration of different modules for the same part in the pipeline such that a condition mechanism decides which module is executed depending on the characteristics of the applied data.
  • Uses pandas DataFrame or xarray Dataset as input, allowing users to flexibly read the data from any source (file, database, website) with their method of choice.
  • Callbacks, e.g. for visualizing, analyzing, and writing the intermediate results of modules.

 

Existing Cooperation

pyWATTS is currently under development by the Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics (IAI) at the Karlsruhe Institute for Technology. Currently Prof. Dr. Jorge Ángel González Ordiano from the Universidad Iberoamericana Ciudad de México is also involved in pyWATTS development.

 

Funding

pyWATTS is funded by the Helmholtz Association’s Initiative and Networking Fund through Helmholtz AI, the Helmholtz Association under the Program “Energy System Design”, the Joint Initiative “Energy System Design - A Contribution of the Research Field Energy”, the Helmholtz Metadata Collaboration, and the German Research Foundation (DFG) as part of the Research Training Group 2153 “Energy Status Data: Informatics Methods for its Collection, Analysis and Exploitation” and under Germany’s Excellence Strategy – EXC number 2064/1 – Project number 390727645.

Publications


Smart Data Representations: Impact on the Accuracy of Deep Neural Networks
Neumann, O.; Turowski, M.; Ludwig, N.; Heidrich, B.; Hagenmeyer, V.; Mikut, R.
2021. Proceedings - 31. Workshop Computational Intelligence : Berlin, 25. - 26. November 2021. Hrsg.: H. Schulte; F. Hoffmann; R. Mikut, 113–130, KIT Scientific Publishing
Concepts for Automated Machine Learning in Smart Grid Applications
Meisenbacher, S.; Pinter, J.; Martin, T.; Hagenmeyer, V.; Mikut, R.
2021. Proceedings - 31. Workshop Computational Intelligence : Berlin, 25. - 26. November 2021. Hrsg.: H. Schulte; F. Hoffmann; R. Mikut, 11–35, KIT Scientific Publishing
pyWATTS: Python Workflow Automation Tool for Time Series
Heidrich, B.; Bartschat, A.; Turowski, M.; Neumann, O.; Phipps, K.; Meisenbacher, S.; Schmieder, K.; Ludwig, N.; Mikut, R.; Hagenmeyer, V.
2021. Cornell University

pyWATTSist ein auf Python basierendes Open-Source-Paket mit dem Ziel Arbeitsabläufe in der Zeitreihenanalyse zu automatisieren. Zusätzlich vereinfacht es den Auswertungsprozess und die Planung von sich wiederholenden Experimenten. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht es die Integration bestehender Modelle durch eine standardisierte API.

pyWATTS: Python Workflow Automation Tool for Time Series

Zeitreihendaten sind von grundlegender Bedeutung für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen, die von Finanzmärkten bis zu Energiesystemen reichen. Aufgrund ihrer Bedeutung nimmt die Anzahl und Komplexität der für die Zeitreihenanalyse verwendeten Werkzeuge und Methoden ständig zu. Aufgrund unklarer APIs und mangelnder Dokumentation haben Forscher jedoch Schwierigkeiten, diese in ihre Forschungsprojekte zu integrieren und Ergebnisse zu reproduzieren. Darüber hinaus gibt es in der Zeitreihenanalyse viele sich wiederholende Aufgaben, die oft für jedes Projekt neu implementiert werden, was unnötig Zeit kostet. pyWATTS, ein Open-Source-Paket auf Python-Basis, ist ein nicht-sequentielles Workflow-Automatisierungstool für die Analyse von Zeitreihendaten, das die oben genannten Probleme lösen soll. pyWATTS umfasst Module mit klar definierten Schnittstellen, die eine nahtlose Integration neuer oder bestehender Methoden ermöglichen, Subpipelining zur einfachen Reproduktion sich wiederholender Aufgaben, Lade- und Speicherfunktionen zur einfachen Replikation von Ergebnissen und native Unterstützung für wichtige Python-Bibliotheken für Maschinelles Lernen wie scikit-learn, PyTorch und Keras.

Einige Hauptmerkmale von pyWATTS sind:

  • Eine plattformunabhängige Lösung zur Implementierung von Arbeitsabläufen von Anfang bis Ende unter Verwendung von Pipelines. Dadurch können Zeitreihenexperimente auf organisierte Weise und in jeder Umgebung, die pyWATTS unterstützt, durchgeführt werden.
  • Ermöglicht Wiederverwendbarkeit durch Subpipelining. Jeder nützliche Teil eines Zeitreihenexperiments, z. B. die Vorverarbeitung, kann als Subpipeline definiert und ohne weitere Anpassungen und unabhängig vom ursprünglichen Experiment in andere Pipelines integriert werden.
  • Speichern und Laden einer beliebigen Pipeline-Konfiguration, um Ergebnisse zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt zu reproduzieren.
  • Einfache Integration neuer Forschungsansätze durch eine Plug-and-Play-Umgebung, in der Module, die in pyWATTS implementiert sind, nahtlos zwischen Pipelines durch eine modulare Architektur mit Datenverarbeitung durch xarray ausgetauscht werden können.
  • Eine klare API der Module, d. h. Transformations- und Fit-Methoden, die sicherstellen, dass Pipelines innerhalb von pyWATTS anpassungsfähig sind und dass Module leicht auf mehreren Datensätzen, an verschiedenen Punkten in einer Pipeline und in verschiedenen Pipelines laufen können.
  • Integration von verschiedenen Modulen für den gleichen Teil in der Pipeline, sodass ein Bedingungsmechanismus entscheidet, welches Modul abhängig von den Eigenschaften der verwendeten Daten ausgeführt wird.
  • Verwendung von pandas DataFrame oder xarray Dataset als Eingabe, sodass Nutzende die Daten flexibel aus jeder beliebigen Quelle (Datei, Datenbank, Website) mit der Methode ihrer Wahl lesen können.
  • Callbacks, z. B. zur Visualisierung, Analyse und zum Schreiben der Zwischenergebnisse von Modulen.

 

Bestehende Zusammenarbeit

pyWATTS wird derzeit vom Institut für Automation und angewandte Informatik (IAI) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie entwickelt. Derzeit ist auch Prof. Dr. Jorge Ángel González Ordiano von der Universidad Iberoamericana Ciudad de México an der pyWATTS-Entwicklung beteiligt.

 

Förderung

pyWATTS wird gefördert durch den Impuls- und Vernetzungsfonds der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft über Helmholtz AI, die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft im Programm „Energiesystemdesign„“, die Gemeinschaftsinitiative „Energiesystemdesign - Ein Beitrag des Forschungsbereichs Energie„“, die Helmholtz Metadata Collaboration und die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) im Rahmen des Graduiertenkollegs 2153 „Energiezustandsdaten: Informatik-Methoden zur Erfassung, Analyse und Nutzung“ und im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes - EXC-Nummer 2064/1 - Projektnummer 390727645.

Publikationen


Smart Data Representations: Impact on the Accuracy of Deep Neural Networks
Neumann, O.; Turowski, M.; Ludwig, N.; Heidrich, B.; Hagenmeyer, V.; Mikut, R.
2021. Proceedings - 31. Workshop Computational Intelligence : Berlin, 25. - 26. November 2021. Hrsg.: H. Schulte; F. Hoffmann; R. Mikut, 113–130, KIT Scientific Publishing
Concepts for Automated Machine Learning in Smart Grid Applications
Meisenbacher, S.; Pinter, J.; Martin, T.; Hagenmeyer, V.; Mikut, R.
2021. Proceedings - 31. Workshop Computational Intelligence : Berlin, 25. - 26. November 2021. Hrsg.: H. Schulte; F. Hoffmann; R. Mikut, 11–35, KIT Scientific Publishing
pyWATTS: Python Workflow Automation Tool for Time Series
Heidrich, B.; Bartschat, A.; Turowski, M.; Neumann, O.; Phipps, K.; Meisenbacher, S.; Schmieder, K.; Ludwig, N.; Mikut, R.; Hagenmeyer, V.
2021. Cornell University