MINToring – Mentoring Program for Female Master’s Students in STEM Fields

Unfortunately, women in STEM fields are still a minority. You already experienced this in your studies, which you are currently doing with a majority of male fellow students.
Now you are in your master’s and asking yourself – science or rather business? What does one do during a doctorate?
It was the same for us. We, female PhD students and postdocs at the Institute for Automation and applied Informatics (IAI), would like to give you the opportunity to get to know our everyday life and support you in your decision – for example business or science.

You are:

  • female master’s student
  • in the field: computer science, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, chemical engineering, bio engineering, mathematics, or physics

What to expect:

  • regular meetups with your mentor (intensity can be arranged individually)
  • workshops
  • lectures of women working in STEM fields
  • networking with PhD students and Postdocs at IAI and other students

 

There is currently no application. The next call for applications is expected to be in April/May 2023.

 

If you have any further questions, please contact us at mentorinnen∂iai.kit.edu.

We are looking forward to getting to know you!

 

These are the mentors:

Nathalie Klug

Nathalie Klug

In my mechanical engineering studies, I specialised in robotics and medical technology. I started my PhD in October 2022, and I am currently working on automatic imaging and 3D modelling of biological organisms for biodiversity research. Since I was a mentee in the first round of the IAI's MINToring program and this helped me a lot in my decision to pursue a PhD, I am happy to continue to be involved as a mentor.

Ellen Förstner

Ellen Förstner

Each step towards understanding how everything works and interconnects makes our world even more fascinating. At least that’s how it works for me. This enthusiasm has never left me, even though my physics studies here at KIT, naturally, weren’t just a picnic. Since February 2021 I am doing my PhD here at IAI, working on the question: What’s up in the electrical power network (state estimation)? In my free time I do volunteer work in my sports club and I love to join in any handcrafting project.

Katharina Löffler

Katharina Löffler

The natural sciences have fascinated me since school, unfortunately, I could not study all of them. I decided to study electrical engineering and information technology at KIT, where I specialized in signal processing in my Master’s. In my PhD at IAI I develop tracking algorithms to track biological cells over time.

Lisa Petani

Lisa Petani

During my studies of mechanical engineering at KIT, I spezialized in the fields of medical technology and robotics in my master’s degree. Subsequently, I started my PhD at IAI, where I further specialized in the field of medical technology. In my PhD I am working on inkjet-printed sensors, which are developed for application in various medical devices.

Martha Maria Frysztacki

Martha Maria Frysztacki

“There are things which seem incredible to most men who have not studied mathematics” is a quote from Archimedes. I desired to understand most of the incredible and, hence, chose to study math. Still, I find many things incredible ... But now I can apply the abstract tools of mathematics in different fields. For instance in my PhD in informatics at the KIT. Here, I implement and analyse future model scenarios of various climate objectives, such as those of the Paris agreement or the climate goals 2035 / 2050 of the European Comission.

Grushika Malve

Grushika Malve

From my childhood, I was very much fascinated with modern developments and the latest technologies. My first choice was to pursue a Bachelor’s degree in the field of Electronics and Communications. With this background, I specialized my Master’s in Digital Engineering and gained profound experience in wireless Industry 4.0 communications. Presently, I am working as a research assistant at KIT dealing with security concepts in the field of energy domain. I would be happy to support and guide KIT students in their future endeavors.

Ghada Elbez

Ghada Elbez

I did my Master's degree in “Electrical Engineering and Computer Science” with a specialization in mechatronics where I worked on the topic of detection of faults and anomalies for my Master Thesis in applied research in Industry. To continue working on this interesting research area, I decided to do a PhD thesis at the IAI. The focus of my current research work is to enhance the cyber-physical security in modern energy systems and my PhD topic takes up the challenge of securing the availability of the communication traffic in IEC 61850 substations through the development of an adapted anomaly detection method. Within the mentoring program, I would like to offer my experience with respect to my research as well as to support in personal development and decision-making for future career paths.

Sophie Xing An

Sophie Xing An

I have always been curious about the backgrounds and effects of all kinds of physical phenomena and technical concepts.

During my studies in electrical engineering and information technology, I was able to live out quite a bit of this curiosity and was able to gain insights into many exciting and different engineering topics, such as medical technology, solid-state electronics and power engineering.

Afterwards, I started my PhD here at IAI and dedicated myself to a deeper dive into a single topic, namely the control of microgrids, which is of interest with the growing percentage of decentral energy sources.

MINToring Video

MINToring – Mentorinnenprogramm für Masterstudentinnen im MINT-Bereich

Frauen im MINT-Bereich sind leider immer noch in der Minderheit. Du kennst das schon aus deinem Studium, das du gerade mit größtenteils männlichen Kommilitonen absolvierst.
Nun bist du im Master und fragst dich – Wissenschaft oder doch lieber Wirtschaft? Was macht man überhaupt so während einer Promotion?

Uns ging es genauso. Wir, Doktorandinnen bzw. Postdocs am Institut für Automation und angewandte Informatik (IAI), möchten dir daher die Möglichkeit geben unseren Alltag kennen zu lernen und dir eine Unterstützung bei deinen Entscheidungen – z. B. Wissenschaft oder Wirtschaft – geben.

Du bist:

  • Masterstudentin
  • im Bereich: Informatik, Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Chemieingenieurwesen, Bioingenieurwesen, Mathematik oder Physik

Was dich erwartet:

  • Regelmäßiger Austausch mit deiner Mentorin (Intensität individuell abstimmbar)
  • Workshops
  • Vortragsreihen von Frauen aus dem MINT-Bereich
  • Netzwerk aus Doktorandinnen und Postdocs des IAI und anderen Studentinnen

 

Aktuell findet keine Bewerbung statt. Die nächste Ausschreibung wird voraussichtlich im April/Mai 2023 stattfinden.

 

Bei weiteren Fragen melde dich gerne bei uns unter mentorinnen∂iai.kit.edu.

Wir freuen uns dich kennenzulernen!

 

Das sind die Mentorinnen:

Nathalie Klug

Nathalie Klug

In meinem Maschinen­bau­studium habe ich mich in den Bereichen Robotik und Medizin­technik spezialisiert. Meine Promotion habe ich im Oktober 2022 begonnen. Derzeit arbeite ich an der automatischen Aufnahme und 3D-Modellierung von biologischen Organismen für die Biodiversitätsforschung. Da ich in der ersten Runde des MINToring-Programms des IAIs als Mentee teilgenommen habe und dies mir bei meiner Entscheidung zu promovieren sehr geholfen hat, freue ich mich darüber, mich nun als Mentorin zu engagieren. 

Ellen Förstner

Ellen Förstner

Mit jedem Schritt hin zum Verstehen wie alles funktioniert und zusammenhängt wird unsere Welt immer noch fantastischer. Zumindest geht es mir so. Diese Begeisterung hat mich nie verlassen, auch wenn mein Studium der Physik hier am KIT natürlich nicht immer nur ein Zuckerschlecken war. Seit Februar 2021 arbeite ich als Doktorandin am IAI und befasse mich mit der Frage: Was geht gerade ab im Stromnetz (Zustandsschätzung)? Als Ausgleich bin ich in meiner Freizeit im Verein aktiv und überhaupt für alles Basteln und Werken immer zu haben.

Katharina Löffler

Katharina Löffler

Die Naturwissenschaften haben mich seit der Schule begeistert, leider konnte ich nicht alle studieren. Letztendlich habe ich mich für ein Studium der Elektro- und Informationstechnik am KIT entschieden mit Vertiefungs­richtung Signalverarbeitung im Master. In meiner Promotion am IAI entwickle ich Tracking­algorithmen um biologische Zellen über die Zeit zu verfolgen.

Lisa Petani

Lisa Petani

Während meines Maschinenbau-Studiums am KIT habe ich mich im Master auf die Bereiche Medizintechnik und Robotik spezialisiert. Anschließend habe ich mit meiner Promotion am IAI begonnen, in der ich mich weiter im Bereich Medizintechnik vertiefe. In meiner Promotion beschäftige ich mich mit gedruckten Sensoren, die in verschiedenen medizinischen Anwendungen eingesetzt werden sollen.

Martha Maria Frysztacki

Martha Maria Frysztacki

„Es gibt Dinge, die den meisten Menschen unglaublich erscheinen, die nicht Mathematik studiert haben“ ist ein Zitat von Archimedes. Ich wollte das Unglaubliche verstehen, deshalb habe ich Mathematik studiert. Ich finde immer noch vieles unglaublich ... aber viele der abstrakten Zusammenhänge der Mathematik kann ich nun in anderen Bereichen anwenden. In meiner Promotion in Informatik am KIT zum Beispiel. Da implementiere und untersuche ich zukünftige Modellszenarien, die verschiedene Klimaziele abbilden, unter anderem die des Übereinkommens von Paris oder die Klimaziele 2035 / 2050 der Europäischen Kommission.

Grushika Malve

Grushika Malve

Seit meiner Kindheit war ich sehr fasziniert von modernen Entwicklungen und den neuesten Technologien. Meine erste Wahl war es, ein Bachelor-Studium im Bereich Elektronik und Kommunikation zu absolvieren. Mit diesem Hintergrund spezialisierte ich mich auf meinen Master in Digital Engineering und sammelte tiefgreifende Erfahrungen in der drahtlosen Industrie-4.0-Kommunikation. Zurzeit arbeite ich als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am KIT und beschäftige mich mit Sicherheitskonzepten im Bereich der Energiedomäne. Ich würde mich freuen, die Studierenden des KIT bei ihren zukünftigen Unternehmungen zu unterstützen und anzuleiten.

Ghada Elbez

Ghada Elbez

Während meines Masterstudiums in „Electrical Engineering and Computer Science“ mit Vertiefung in Mechatronik hat das Thema Anomalie-Erkennung mein Interesse geweckt. Deswegen habe ich beschlossen meine Masterarbeit in angewandter Forschung in der Industrie auszuführen. Da ich weiterhin in diesem Bereich forschen wollte, habe ich mich entschieden eine Promotion am IAI zu beginnen. In meiner Promotion ist die Entwicklung von Anomalie-Erkennungsverfahren für die Cybersicherheit von Kommunikation in Energiesystemen Hauptteil meiner Forschungsarbeit. Meine Erfahrung bezüglich meiner Forschungsrichtung und Unterstützung bei der persönlichen Entwicklung und Entscheidungsfindung bei zukünftigen Karrierewegen würde ich gerne anbieten.

Sophie Xing An

Sophie Xing An

Hintergründe und Wirkungsweisen zu allen möglichen physikalischen Phänomenen und technischen Konzepten haben mich schon immer neugierig gemacht.

Das konnte ich während meines Elektro- und Informationstechnik-Studiums gut ausleben. Dort konnte ich Einblicke in viele spannende und unterschiedliche ingenieurstechnische Themen, wie z. B. der Medizintechnik, der Festkörperelektronik und der Energietechnik, bekommen.

Anschließend habe ich hier am IAI mit meiner Promotion angefangen und mich damit tiefergehend einem Thema in der Energietechnik gewidmet. In meiner Promotion beschäftige ich mich mit Regelungskonzepten von Microgrids, vor allem im Hinblick auf vermehrte dezentrale Energieerzeuger.

MINToring-Video